By default, checks, workflow runs, commit statuses, and the artifacts and log files generated by workflows are retained for 90 days before they are automatically deleted.
These retention policies apply to checks data, including check suites and check runs, and to commit statuses, including those created by third-party integrations. The policies are not limited to data created by GitHub Actions.
You can change this retention period to anywhere between 1 day or 400 days.
When you customize the retention period, it only applies to new checks, workflow runs, commit statuses, artifacts, and log files, and does not retroactively apply to existing objects. For managed repositories and organizations, the maximum retention period cannot exceed the limit set by the managing organization or enterprise.
Setting the retention period for an organization
-
On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the organization.
-
Under your organization name, click Settings. If you cannot see the "Settings" tab, select the dropdown menu, then click Settings.

-
In the left sidebar, click Actions, then click General.
-
In the "Check, workflow run, status, artifact, log, and cache settings" section, under Check, workflow run, status, artifact and log retention, enter a new value.
-
Click Save to apply the change.