Skip to main content
Skip to content

Disabling Copilot for organizations in your enterprise

Disable GitHub Copilot for some or all of the organizations in your enterprise.

Who can use this feature?

Enterprise owners

Enterprises with a Copilot Enterprise or Copilot Business plan

This procedure applies to Copilot Business and Copilot Enterprise. When you disable access for organizations, organization owners cannot assign licenses to their members. Enterprise owners can still assign Copilot Business seats directly to users and teams in the enterprise settings.

For how seat assignment works with Copilot access, see GitHub Copilot seats and billing cycles for organizations and enterprises.

  1. Navigate to your enterprise. For example, from the Enterprises page on GitHub.com.

  2. At the top of the page, click Billing and licensing.

  3. In the "Billing and licensing" sidebar, click Licensing.

  4. In the "Copilot" section, click Manage.

  5. Next to "Organization access", choose whether to disable Copilot for all organizations or allow for specific organizations.

    Screenshot of the "Organization access" section, with the dropdown menu highlighted.

  6. If you selected Allow for specific organizations:

    1. Click the Organizations tab.
    2. Locate the organization for which you want to disable Copilot.
    3. To the right of the organization name, select the Copilot dropdown menu.
      • If your enterprise has a Copilot Business plan, click Disabled.
      • If your enterprise has a Copilot Enterprise plan, click Remove access.

Once Copilot is disabled, licenses that are currently granted through the organization will be revoked at the end of the billing period. You will not be double-billed if a user also receives a license from your enterprise during this period.

Further reading